Toxic beliefs.

‘The truth is that what other people say and do to you, is much more about them, than you.’ 

I read an article today on toxic beliefs.

I had literally just sent up a thought to them ‘up there’ asking for some guidance about the thoughts and feelings I had been struggling with.
Less than 1 minute later my thought/question was answered by an article that popped up on my new feed on Facebook. You see, spirit are clever like that. But they can only show you just how clever they are, if you ask.

I have sat with my feelings and tried to work through them. I’ve tried playing them out as a release. I drew a card from my Archangel Michael pack for a little extra clarity and still, I didn’t feel right.
By the way, the card I got was hilarious as always….

image

So here I am, sat rolling a cigarette and making a cup of tea, sat in my usual spot trying to work out what I do with this. I feel uninspired. Not because I have no source of inspiration, because wow- inspiration for spiritual writing is all around me. It’s in the morning cup of tea. The normal every day stuff. It’s in the flowers blowing in the wind that caught my eye 2 moments ago. It’s in my children and especially my daughter today. Inspiration is not something I lack, but yet I still feel uninspired and still a little perplexed and irritated.

So I sent it up. It’s just what I’ve learnt to do now! Can’t work it out? Send it out for an answer. Something my teacher said during her service last night just popped into my head. Send it out but wait for the answer. Sometimes we send so many questions and thoughts out, that spirit have a hard time working out what to answer first! Then we have answers pop back in and we aren’t even aware which thought it was in answer to. Which then makes us feel we haven’t been heard or that spirit are ‘abandoning’ us in our time of need. Thoughts are powerful and need just as much care and attention as the dialogue that flows from our mouths or the words that we type on a keyboard.

Anyway, I digress! So the thought I sent up and out?
‘How am I meant to feel about this?’

I honestly felt instantly more at peace with it. Finished making  my tea and then had a scroll on Facebook. The article that just happened to pop up was the link I share below: 8 toxic beliefs most people think are normal.

http://www.the-open-mind.com/8-toxic-beliefs-most-people-think-are-normal-1/#sthash.5sLbRWDH.dpuf

So which of these toxic beliefs answered my question? Well its this one.

‘What everyone does to you is personal. –

People are toxic to themselves and others when they believe that everything happening in the world is a direct assault on them, or is in some way all about them.  The truth is that what other people say and do to you is much more about them, than you.  People’s reactions to you are about their perspectives, wounds and life experiences.  Whether people think you’re amazing, or believe you’re average, again, is more about them.  I’m not suggesting we should be narcissists and ignore all feedback.  I’m saying that a great deal of hurt, disappointment and sadness in our lives comes from our taking things personally.  In most cases it’s far more productive and healthy to let go of other people’s good or bad opinion of you, and to operate with your own intuition and wisdom as your guide.’

I feel soooo much better. Something I had taken as a personal attack is only one if I allow it to be. In truth it’s not personal. My words and thoughts and opinions will be perceived based on someones own perspective, their own personal growth and where they are ‘at’ right now. If they take what I say and switch it up or rearrange it to fit something different for them, or they take what I say out of context- that is their understanding of it right now. There is nothing I can do about that.

It will of course make me a little sad when that happens as it means the person hasn’t ‘got it’ but hey, that’s a lot more to do with them, than me.

So the answer to my question? I won’t take it personally.

Leave a Reply

