2 of 31 days of gratitude

Day 2 of 31 days of gratitude

Today is a difficult one. But the point of this is to look at those difficulties and change how you view it.

1. Today I’ve woken with a fibromyalgia flare up. It’s meant that I can feel EVERY single tiny inch of my body and some of it hurts. How actually awesome is that? Yes I’m in pain, but how alive my body is and my connection to my body. It’s actually pretty cool. The reason I say ‘some’ of my body hurts, is because we have a tendency to catastrophise when we are in pain. We will say things like ‘I hurt all over’ ‘I can barely move’

But do I hurt ALL over? No. So today I have been spending time on recognising the pain I have, giving it substance and in doing so, recognising the areas that I do NOT have pain. In the grand scheme of things, I’m actually in a lot less pain than my brain decided I was in this morning, when I woke. I am so grateful for the ability to do this and to have that toolkit available to me!!

I can barely move- which means actually, I can move! That in itself is a blessing. I CAN move, Just not quite as ably as I can on other days & this just means I need to invest a little more time, in being present in each task and focusing on things, one at a time. ❤

2. Because of my flare up, I’ve had the chance to slow down today. Im so thankful for this. To flow with the day, with focus. It’s enabled me to play with my youngest son in a more present way. We played a Thomas the tank engine racing game on my kindle. Seeing his little face light up is all the medicine I need!!

I’ve had the chance to snuggle down and watch an old favourite film of mine from my childhood- Time Bandits! I’ve had the opportunity to share that joy with my older children today. Something that may not have happened, if I hadn’t been in a little pain. ❤

3. A small thing I am thankful for today is windows. Sounds crazy right? But to see the ever changing weather out of the window today has been amazing. Pure sunshine and blue skies changed to black clouds and rain in a matter of 10 minutes!! Then back to sunshine breaking through those clouds again. Its miraculous and a wonderful little reminder that everything is ever changing, in every moment. You cannot stop that, just as you cannot stop the ever changing clouds. ❤

image

Gratitude for the small things can change your attitude in all things!! ❤❤❤

Nici Gorman

Leave a Reply

