9 of 31 days of gratitude

1. Today the children and I decided on a pajama day. I am so blessed to get to do these things as we home educate. Self care is so important and I’m glad that the children are learning to listen to their bodies. We had a bit of a traumatic evening the night before as my 7 year old Luc was struggling to calm down. My husband has a new job and so the changes in routine have led to Luc being quite anxious and so lots of stimming and over excitement. This resulted in the little one, banging his head quite badly. Luc was then distraught and felt to blame for the little ones injury, so lots of cuddles all round for everyone!

I needed a pajama day after the last 2 days and they did too and so we just had a really beautiful lazy day of chilling, eating, chatting & re charging. Beautiful! ❀

2. Within that gorgeous lazy day, I managed to get some work done. Not something that tends to happen during the day with 4 children and taking care of their needs. I totally accept that and we just flow with whatever happens daily. But today I woke nice and early, as I have done all this week. Had a cup of tea and listened to the birds. I felt inspired to do some writing and so while everyone was still sleepy and starting their morning, I wrote 9 pages of my course that is still being written. I generally work during the evening as I’m a bit of a night owl, so this was a lovely change and really set the scene for today. Flowing, beautiful and powerful. ❀

3. We had a surprise visit. πŸ™‚ while all sitting down to eat, I heard the keys in the door and everyone immediately got exciting knowing Aunty Tracy had popped in.

She’s the only other person (except my husband and son) to own a key here & so that lovely sound is always music to the childrens ears. (And mine) you see, my big sister isn’t just my sister. She’s my best friend.

It’s funny, my husband and I had only been having a discussion about different areas we would move to, the day before and he himself said he couldn’t move far out from where we are, because of my sister and how much we would all miss her.

I don’t tell her enough how much she is loved and what a large piece of or family she is, so today I am grateful for her!! Her keys in the door, her big smile as she looks round the door frame to where we’re all sat, knowing she’s surprised us. My babies beaming faces looking back at her. How she disappeared off to make tea and then sat with us, embracing the chaos that is dinner time (or any time) here. My big sister, my best friend, my hero and confidante in so many things. Love you. Thank you for the much needed surprise of your company tonight. And for introducing Ben to Mary Poppins!

That’s a serious Mummy failure right there, for my son to be close to 3 and not having heard the song ‘supercalifragilisticexpialidocious’

image

Thanks to you, we went on to listen to lots of the songs and eldest now wants to watch it again πŸ™‚ ❀

Gratitude for the small things can change your attitude in all things! ❀❀❀

Nici Gorman

Leave a Reply

