15 of 31 days of gratitude

What am I thankful for today? Everything. Absolutely every little tiny thing.

We had a sudden family loss yesterday and it has shocked and deeply upset everyone. I cannot imagine the devastation other family members are feeling right now and I send them all so much love, healing and strength to get through the waves that loss creates.

It really makes you stop and take stock.

Life is so short and we spend so much of it worrying and stressing about stuff which, is honestly just, stuff. Not important in the grand scheme of things, but it always feels important at the time.

So today, I have spent time accepting the upset and the upset I know, this loss is causing my dear loved ones. I’ve gone with the flow and spent a little more time paying attention. Saying yes more. Cuddling my children that little bit closer and enjoying all that ‘stuff’ a little bit more.

I woke to a gorgeous, fresh, spring morning and I spent a little time in the garden with a cup of tea, thinking how blessed to have woken to the sunshine that Iris loved so much. It made me smile.

I spent time this evening with some of my oldest friends and it was beautiful. We grew up together and although we no longer spend as much time together and have our own stuff going on, as soon as we are together, the years melt away and we laugh and cry and giggle and just embrace that time together.

That is special right there. Over 20 years of friendship sat around eating crisps and dip and talking about life, with the occasional snuggle from Juno the dog.

We’ve had our ups and downs but the connections between us all run deep and life really is hard enough as it is, without these types of meaningful connections. I am super blessed to know these amazing, strong women. Those people who know you to the core. From teen to 20s to mid 30s (sorry Rachel!) Through school, through grief, partying, boyfriends, break ups, children, marriage, divorce, ill health, puppies, mortgages, careers. It’s all in there and it’s pretty special to still be in touch and in each others lives after so long. Thank you for your friendship, it is a beautiful thing and something not everyone is blessed with.

I’m also thankful for my husband being awake when I got home! After a nightmare drive back, with road closures and getting lost (yet again) there was no where to park! So he came and moved his van and parked my car for me. Might seem like a small thing but I was pretty frazzled after the stressful drive so that was exactly needed right then. Now drinking a beautifully made cuppa before bed.

Life. It happens whether we are aware or not, but becoming more present can make all the difference in how we experience it.

Gratitude for the small things can change your attitude in all things ! ❤❤❤

Nici Gorman

Leave a Reply

