30 and 31!! Days of gratitude.

image

So! We are at the end of the challenge but, I am at the beginning of a beautiful journey. It’s been an interesting month of gratitude and it have really changed how I view even the hardest days. There is ALWAYS something to be thankful for. Even the basics.

I find it funny that we call them the basics. Because actually those small, often overlooked basics, are intrinsic to our daily lives and we really need to learn to appreciate those everyday things that make a difference. Not only in our own lives, but in the lives of others too!

Even at the end of this challenge I have had days where I have struggled to be thankful. This only means that I need to continue this daily gratitude until it has become as natural as breathing. That is my aim. To be truly thankful and grateful for everything I have in life. the small things, the big and the crazy!

Yesterday was the celebration of life for a beautiful lady and I couldn’t go due to needing to be here with the children. I struggled with that originally, feeling that I ought to have been there, offering support and celebrating her life with family. But actually, I got to celebrate her in my own way and that’s okay. I’m just blessed to have known her and had that connection. A wonderful woman, friend, wife, mother and grandmother. Her gorgeous smile is forever within my heart and I am so grateful to have that.

Today I had to call the doctors. I have put it off for a few days as know how difficult it can be to get an appointment. After explaining my situation and why I cannot attend the surgery, the beautiful soul on the other end of that phone, heard my voice cracking. Realised how hard it was to admit struggles and did her best for me- human to human.

She arranged to speak to the doctor and explain the situation. She then called back with a prescription and asked if I needed it taking to a pharmacy to save me extra upset. Wow. How beautiful an extra step she took today to help and it has not gone un noticed! She is sending those lovely energies out and she will recieve them back. Gratitude in abundance. When I burst into tears all she said was ‘now stop that. I’m just doing what I can’

That ‘just doing’ spared me a lot of pain today and to that, I said a heartfelt thank you which I know she felt.

So that’s it! 31 days of gratitude! There’s been ups and downs, big gratitude and small. Life changing and simple. My entire attitude towards gratitude has changed this month and I shall be keeping it up personally as I know that things can only get better when you remain grateful for the blessings you have all around you.

Sometimes we just need to stop and breathe, to suddenly become aware.

Gratitude for the small things can change your attitude in all things! ❤❤❤

Nici Gorman

Leave a Reply

